The Wild Game Dinner

I recently attended a Wild Game Dinner.  No, this doesnt mean we all played “spin the bottle” while eating.  It is actually a night when guys (there are a few women) get together to discuss hunting, fishing and the outdoors.  While doing so they consume what they harvested from nature the previous season.  Sounds like a “yeehaw” moment, and it is.  I think that is what I like about it.  Although I am not into that stuff as much as others it is still a lot of fun, and I seem to learn something new everytime.  Next year I hope to find a good recipe for muskrat soup.  Why?  Because I can!

Here are some observations I made from the Wild Game Dinner:

  1. It brings young and old together.  A lot of the time you will see 3 generations there.  I personally think that is awesome.  It is a great way to pass down tradition and help keep kids a little more interested in the outdoors and a little less involved with the TV.
  2. It’s your chance to eat meat not normally consumed.  Pass the raccoon please.  What, a barbecued pulled raccoon sandwich doesnt sound appealing to you?  Maybe this raccoon was raised on a quiet farm, fed organic vegetables, enrolled in a yoga class and given daily massages.  I still take a pass.  From what I heard it was pretty good.  A little gamey, but good.  For the record I am not really sure how to describe what gamey tastes like.  It is no wonder the hushpuppies were a hit.  No meat = no worries what you are eating and where it came from.  Other menu items might include deer, wild turkey, quail, bobcat, alligator, elk, caribou, and other animals you don’t usually acquire from your local grocers freezer.
  3. Who remembers when Tom Hanks is eating that baby corn in the movie “Big”?  That is how you look when you eat a dove wing.
  4. You will see dead things on the wall.  It is a taxidermist dream world.  You will never find so many animal noggins in one place.
  5. It is quite common to be eating dinner and hear a sound similar to a tug boat horn and not assume the worst.  It is just someone demonstrating their perfected moose grunt call.  I guarantee you will hear a wild turkey call.  I performed one of my own.  As I think back I realize it might have looked like I was having a seizure.  Sorry if I scared anyone.
  6. It is one of the few times that forgetting to wear your camouflage makes you feel out of place.  I quickly put on a blaze orange hat and vest in fear I would be shot at.
  7. You are bound to see some guy holding his hands out showing the length of the fish.  Or maybe the width of the antlers.  Or maybe the size of his…hey now…it is not that kind of evening.
  8. You will have a chance to win a door prize.  Not just any old door prize.  This is your chance to win a birdhouse, an outdoor thermometer, stink bait or maybe a bottle of deer pee.  You would think of all the uses for deer pee, pouring it on yourself would not be one of them.  Me, I was hoping to win the “I’d Rather Be Hunting” bumper sticker.

So, if you ever get a chance to attend one of these dinners, do it.  It is a lot of fun, and you will learn something in the process.  A closing tip:  If something bursts into flames, do not yell “FIRE”.  There is a good chance that some of the guys are carrying concealed weapons, and who knows what could happen.

Anyone ever been to a dinner like this?  Comments?

Leave a Reply

